Talkmio vs Customerly is a comparison between two products that look alike on a feature list and behave very differently on an invoice. Both put an AI assistant in a website chat, both hand conversations to a human team, and both run an inbox. Customerly prices per seat and bills AI usage per conversation on top. Talkmio prices per plan, in euros, with a fixed number of AI answers included and a free plan that needs no card.
This guide compares the two on price, AI limits, inbox tools, channels, data location and the things each one simply does better. The prices below were read from each company’s public pricing page on the day of writing; check both before you decide, because plans change.
Talkmio vs Customerly at a Glance
The short version: Customerly is a broader customer-communication suite with a help centre, in-app flows, surveys and an AI agent called Aura that can take actions. Talkmio is a narrower tool: AI live chat, tickets, live visitors and reports, with an assistant called Mio that answers only from your own content and hands over when it cannot.
| Area | Talkmio | Customerly |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: 1 operator, 1 website, 50 AI answers a month, no card | No free plan listed; free trial on paid plans |
| Pricing model | Per plan, in EUR; seats included in the plan | Per seat, in USD; AI conversations billed on top |
| Entry paid plan | Pro, €19 a month for 3 operators and 1000 AI answers | Core, $19 per seat a month with 10 AI conversations included |
| Extra AI usage | Move to a higher plan (Ultimate: 5000 answers, Enterprise 50: 20000) | $0.45 per additional AI conversation bought in advance, $0.50 on demand |
| AI-only option without seats | No | Yes: Aura AI Agent at $0.45 per AI conversation, no seats required |
| Help centre product | No | Yes, including a custom domain on higher plans |
| In-app flows and surveys (NPS, CSAT) | No flows; ratings after chat only | Yes: Flows, NPS and CSAT surveys |
| E-mail channel and tickets | Pro and above | Shared inbox with e-mail |
| Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp | Ultimate and above | Depends on plan; check the current feature table |
| Data location | EU (Germany) | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Payment | PayPal or bank transfer; VAT 21% added at checkout | Card via the website |
Pricing: Per Plan Versus Per Seat
The biggest difference is the unit you pay for. Customerly’s three plans are priced per seat per month: Core at $19, Growth at $69 and Ultimate at $99, each with two months off on annual billing. A team of three agents on Growth therefore pays $207 a month before any AI usage. Each plan includes a small bundle of AI conversations: 10 on Core, 20 on Growth and 50 on Ultimate. Beyond that, each AI-assisted conversation costs $0.45 when bought in advance or $0.50 on demand. There is also an “interactions” meter for incoming messages, e-mails sent and survey responses, with extra interactions billed from $0.99 per 1,000.
Talkmio prices the plan, not the person. Free is €0 for 1 operator, 1 website and 50 AI answers a month. Pro is €19 a month, or €190 a year, for 3 operators, 3 websites and 1000 AI answers a month. Ultimate is €49 a month, or €490 a year, for 10 operators, 10 websites and 5000 AI answers. Above that, Enterprise 50 (€149), Enterprise 100 (€349) and Enterprise 500 (€999) scale the same limits up. Prices are in euros, VAT of 21% is added at checkout, and you can pay with PayPal or by bank transfer against a proforma invoice. The full table is on the Talkmio pricing page.
A worked example
Take a small online shop with two support staff that expects around 800 chats a month, most of them answered by the AI. On Customerly Growth that is two seats at $69, plus roughly 780 AI conversations beyond the 20 included, at $0.45 each: about $489 a month, before interactions. On Talkmio Pro the same shop pays €19 a month, because the 800 chats fit inside the 1000 AI answers and two operators fit inside three seats. The gap narrows if the AI handles far fewer conversations, and it disappears for a solo founder who only wants a cheap seat and rarely lets the AI answer. Run your own numbers rather than trusting either vendor’s calculator.
What “AI Answer” and “AI Conversation” Actually Mean
The two products count AI usage differently, and the difference matters when you compare limits. Customerly’s pricing FAQ says any conversation where Aura actively participates counts as one AI conversation, regardless of how many messages follow. So a long back-and-forth is one unit.
Talkmio counts AI answers, so a visitor who asks four questions in one chat uses four answers from your monthly allowance. That makes the Talkmio limit look larger than it is in conversation terms. If your typical chat is three to four questions, divide the plan’s AI answers by that number to get a rough conversation count: Pro’s 1000 answers become something like 250 to 350 conversations, and Ultimate’s 5000 become 1250 to 1700. Even on that adjusted basis the included volume per euro is higher on Talkmio, but it is not the ten-times gap a naive reading of the tables suggests.
How the AI Assistants Differ
Mio: answers only from your content, then hands over
Mio reads your website, FAQ, Q&A pairs, free text and uploaded files (PDF, DOCX, TXT, MD, CSV and HTML, up to 15 MB each) and answers only from that content. It does not invent prices or policies. When it cannot answer from your material, when a visitor asks for a person, complains or asks about a specific order, it hands the conversation to your team with a “needs human” badge, a browser notification and, if nobody is online, an e-mail and a push notification on the mobile app. You can test it before going live with Try Mio, which shows the answer, the knowledge pieces used and the response time. Business instructions let you set the tone and the things it must never promise. The mechanics are described in our guide to grounded AI chatbot answers.
Aura: resolves conversations and takes actions
Customerly’s Aura trains on your help centre, is sold as resolving conversations end to end around the clock, and can run “AI Missions”, which are actions inside a flow rather than plain answers. It escalates to humans with context. This is a genuine advantage for teams that want the AI to do things such as collecting information through a structured flow rather than only answering questions. Customerly also advertises an average resolution rate for Aura on its pricing page; treat vendor-reported averages as marketing until you have measured your own.
Inbox, Tickets and Team Tools
Talkmio’s Inbox filters conversations by All, Mine, Unassigned, Unanswered, Mio replied and Closed, with separate tabs for chats and tickets. The reply box has quick replies, internal notes, a Suggest button that drafts a reply from your knowledge base, Translate for writing in the visitor’s language and Polish for grammar and tone. Every conversation can become a numbered ticket with a priority from Low to Urgent and a status of Open, Pending, Solved or Closed. A response-time target marks late conversations as overdue. The e-mail channel on Pro and above turns forwarded support mail into tickets, and replies go back from “Your company via Talkmio” in the same thread. Our article on tickets versus live chat explains when to convert a chat into a ticket.
Customerly offers a shared inbox with custom attributes and routing, instant translate, team analytics and reports, and identity verification on its higher plans. Routing by attribute is more flexible than what Talkmio offers today, where assignment is manual or driven by Mio’s hand-off. If you need rules that send chats about billing to one group and chats about shipping to another, say so plainly: Customerly is better equipped for that.
Channels and Help Centre
Talkmio connects Facebook Messenger, Instagram and WhatsApp Business on the Ultimate plan and above; messages land in the same Inbox and Mio answers them like website chats. There is no help centre product, no e-mail campaigns and no in-app product tours. If a public knowledge base for customers is part of your plan, you would host it elsewhere and let Mio read it.
Customerly bundles a help centre with multi-language support and a custom domain, flows for onboarding and engagement, NPS and CSAT surveys and an API. For a SaaS company that wants chat, docs, surveys and lifecycle messaging in one tool, that breadth is the main reason to pick it. For a shop or a service business that wants the chat answered well and nothing else, the extra modules are weight you pay for in seat price.
Data, Privacy and Where Things Run
Talkmio stores data on servers in the EU, in Germany. Only the conversation text and the relevant knowledge-base excerpts are sent to the AI model provider, and you can export or delete your data at any time by writing to support. For businesses that need to show an EU-resident processor to their own customers or auditors, that is a short conversation. Our guide to EU data residency for live chat covers what to check in any vendor’s documentation.
Customerly’s pricing page does not state a storage region, so ask before signing if that matters to you. Both products offer the identity-verification style controls and data export you would expect from a modern vendor, but the details live in their legal pages rather than their pricing tables, and those are the documents to read.
Installation and Platforms
Both install with a script tag. Talkmio adds a WordPress plugin with a site key, and modules or snippets for PrestaShop, OpenCart, Magento, Joomla, Drupal, Shopify, Wix, Squarespace, Webflow, BigCommerce and others listed on the integrations page. Customerly also installs with a snippet and offers SDKs and an API. Neither needs a developer for a standard website; both need one if you want to identify logged-in users or trigger events from your application.
Who Should Pick Which
- Pick Customerly if you run a SaaS product, want a help centre, surveys and in-app flows from the same vendor, need attribute-based routing, or prefer to pay only for AI conversations with no seats at all.
- Pick Talkmio if you want predictable euro pricing per plan rather than per seat, a free plan to start on, a large included AI answer allowance, EU data storage, and an assistant that stays inside your own content and hands over rather than improvising.
- Try both if you are a small team with moderate AI volume; the price gap is widest at high AI usage and smallest when humans answer most chats.
Vendor pricing pages are the primary source here, and they are worth reading in full: the Customerly pricing page lists plan contents and AI billing rules, and the W3C accessibility guidelines are the standard to hold any chat widget to, whichever you choose.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Talkmio cheaper than Customerly?
For most teams that let the AI answer a meaningful share of chats, yes. Talkmio prices per plan in euros, with 1000 AI answers on Pro at €19 a month and 5000 on Ultimate at €49. Customerly prices per seat in USD and adds $0.45 to $0.50 per AI conversation beyond a small included bundle. A solo user with little AI usage may find the two close.
Does Customerly have a free plan like Talkmio?
The Customerly pricing page lists Core, Growth and Ultimate with free trials, but no permanent free plan. Talkmio’s Free plan is €0 for 1 operator, 1 website, 50 AI answers and 50 tickets a month, with 20 knowledge-base pages and 30-day history, and it needs no card to start.
What does Customerly do better than Talkmio?
Customerly includes a help centre with a custom domain, in-app flows, NPS and CSAT surveys, attribute-based routing, an API and an AI agent that can take actions inside flows. It also sells an AI-only option with no seats. Talkmio has none of those modules; it focuses on AI live chat, tickets, live visitors and reports.
How are AI limits counted on each product?
Customerly counts one AI conversation whenever its agent participates, regardless of message count. Talkmio counts each AI answer, so a chat with four questions uses four answers. When comparing limits, divide Talkmio’s monthly answers by your average questions per chat to get a conversation estimate before you compare it with Customerly’s bundle.
Where is my data stored with each vendor?
Talkmio stores data on servers in the EU, in Germany, and sends only conversation text and relevant knowledge excerpts to the AI model provider. Customerly’s pricing page does not state a storage region, so ask the vendor directly if data residency is a requirement for your business or your customers.
Can I move from Customerly to Talkmio without losing chat history?
Talkmio has no importer for another vendor’s conversations, so past chats stay in your Customerly export. Knowledge is easier to move: Mio reads your public website pages, uploaded files and Q&A pairs, so a help-centre export as HTML, DOCX or PDF can be uploaded and used for answers within minutes.
The Bottom Line
Talkmio vs Customerly comes down to breadth against price. Customerly is the richer suite, with a help centre, flows, surveys and an AI agent that acts, and it earns its per-seat pricing for SaaS teams that use those modules. Talkmio is the simpler, cheaper choice for businesses that want the chat answered from their own content, in the visitor’s language, with EU storage and a flat euro price. Start on the free plan, teach Mio your pages and compare its answers with your current tool on the same questions. Create a free Talkmio account and run that test today.
